Half day at the Museum

Yesterday I spent half the day at the Museum of Flight. Starting at 0930, I attended the recognition for Carol T, the retired volunteer program supervisor. She is also a Vietnam era veteran. Her name was added to the Wall of Honor. I sketched the MC who read the citations for all the inductees. There are some very impressive lives symbolized by the small plaques.

Then I went upstairs to the WWI gallery to sketch the Fokker D.VII replica which was removed from its spot hanging from the ceiling. I was surprised by the garish colors, which I hadn’t noticed looking up at it all these years. I sketched in pencil per Museum rule. I finished it later. It will soon be transferred to the Museum’s Restoration Center in Everett. Among other repairs, I’m told it will have a new paint job more representative of its WWI livery.

Meanwhile a helicopter and crew from Coast Guard Station Port Angeles was parked outside and welcoming visitors. I worked on the sketch until the rain started. I also finished it later. I was amused by the unit patch with the duck. I spoke with the co-pilot who said they mostly do search and rescue off the PNW coast. I also spoke with the rescue swimmer who told me about his 2 years of training!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Urban Sketchers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.