Group sketching at the Museum of Flight

The Friday sketchers group from Urban Sketchers Seattle met at the Museum of Flight today.  It would have been a perfect day for an outdoor outing, but one never knows in March.  I used some of my guest passes to get a limited number of sketchers in for free.

I sketch here all the time.  Today, I let the USk global flikcr pool’s weekly theme of “star
shapes” guide me.  I knew I could find an aircraft with a star!  This is a 1940 prototype
Mustang.

One place I’ve never sketched is the WWI environments.  I wanted to do the trenches exhibit, with it’s crashed aircraft.  But it was just tooo dark.  So I sketched this ruined farmhouse which serves as a theater.

Stillman & Birn hardbound Zeta sketchbook; Platinum Carbon Black in a Platinum Cool Pen; Daniel Smith Watercolors

Sharing our sketchbooks:

The group photo with Boeing 787 Dreamliner (#3), Concorde and a shrink-wrapped B-29 in the background.

standing:  Susan, Pat, Gwen, Peggy, Donna, Steve, Gloria, Frances
kneeling: Natalie, Tina, Kate

A few more photos are here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Group sketching at the Museum of Flight

  1. Wonderful sketch-out today, Kate. Thanks for the guest passes. I had a great time!

  2. Awesome sketches, Kate. You really captured the metallic feel of the 1940’s Mustang.

  3. Looks like everyone enjoyed your spot too. Nice sketches!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.