Payload Bay

Met up with a group of sketchers from Kent today at the Museum of Flight.  At least two of them are members but still gave them my standard orientation.

Made a quick trip over to the Vietnam Veterans Memorial Park to check the status.  Dedication is a week away.  It looked good with the flags flying.  A worker was installing the memorial plaques.

Plaque on the front of the statue:

I have several scenes I still want to sketch at the Museum.  I did one of them today.  I sat on the floor at the front of the Full Fuselage Space Shuttle Trainer’s payload pay.  The two humps on either side are the engine bells at the back.  Above is the Inertial Upper Stage which boosted satellites into orbit.  Above right is the half sized model of the Hubble telescope.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.