Visiting sketcher & Vendor Day

Ever since she went to Berlin for 3 months to sketch and immerse herself in the art scene there, I’ve followed Sigrid’s blog.  She’s been back home in Vancouver, BC for several months now.   I really admire her sketches.  She contacted me and the Seattle Urban Sketchers when she planned a trip here.   Her flickr

A few of us were able to meet her at Pike Market today. As usual, I didn’t want to deal with driving and parking in down town Seattle.  But since I wasn’t going home after but to Daniel Smith just south of downtown, I parked closer in and took the bus and light rail.  I did a quick sketch of the VA hospital from the bus stop across the street.

It was terrible weather…. chilly with heavy rain, even hail.  So we sheltered in a cafe to sketch and talk.  After all, I wanted to spend a little time in conversation with her as well as sketch together.

Lynn, Tina, Sigrid

We worked each other into the sketches.

Tina

 

Other people in the cafe

 

Afterward, I went over to Daniel Smith’s Vendor Day.  What a crowd!  I spoke with the rep for Strathmore and learned that the Watercolor Visual Journal is Series 400 paper.  She suggested trying a Series 500 90 pound multi media paper.

I saw two other USK’ers!  Nilda was there.  Here is Stephanie with Ron Stocke

There were a couple crazy cars in the lot today!  All the photos are here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketches. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Visiting sketcher & Vendor Day

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    Fun sketches of a good meetup! Also enjoyed your photos of the funky cars at DS!

  2. Sigrid says:

    That was fun, I hope I didn’t get anyone sick though. I lost my voice later that day = laryngitis. I look forward to more sketching and conversation next time.

  3. Sigrid says:

    Kate, I posted your photo on my blog too, with a credit for your, but let me know if not OK. I can take it off!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.