The Book

During the lecture, I did this sketch.

In another life, I did “book arts” as a hobby.  I was a scribe in the SCA (Society for Creative Anachronism) and produced award scrolls (documents) in the style of medieval books of hours.  I both calligraphed and painted these original works of art.

This past interest led me this afternoon to a presentation on the St. John’s Bible.     In 1998, Saint John’s Abbey (outside of Minneapolis, Minnesota) commissioned a world famous calligrapher and Scribe to Queen Elizabeth II of England, Donald Jackson, to produce a hand-written, hand illuminated Bible.  It was done in collaboration with a number of artists he gathered to his studio in Wales.  They used medieval techniques and materials.  It took 7 years to create 1156 pages on vellum.

Epiphany Episcopal Church in Seattle has 2 volumes of the “Heritage Edition” which is a facsimile reproduction.

This same program will be repeated monthly until August, when the volumes leave in August 2014.

There is an opportunity for an in depth discussion with a local artist who was one of the illuminators.  Suzanne Moore will present a program on 30 March.

Here is a taste of what it looks like:

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Book

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    Wow, that’s fascinating! A nice sketch of the book.

  2. Pingback: A Book in the library | Red Harp Arts

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.