Perfect day in the Seattle Chinese Garden

Urban Sketchers Seattle were graced with a perfect spring day to enjoy the Chinese Garden.  I was looking forward to this sketch outing as I knew the weather would be good and I had never been to this garden.

It did not disappoint.  I arrived a bit early and simply stopped at the first view.

After finishing this first sketch, I wandered around, enjoying the garden and looking for a second scene to sketch.  The huge carp sculpture was, perhaps, my second favorite place in the garden!

A carp becomes a dragon…. this is the “Dragon Seeker” sculpture.  According to traditional Chinese tale, a carp that could leap the high falls of the Yellow River at Dragon Gate (near Longmen, Zhejiang) would be transformed into a dragon.  This Dragon Seeker was made in Thailand over 100 years ago. More recently, a Seattle couple had it in their garding in Kuala Lumpur.  When they returned to Seattle, they donated him to the Chinese Garden.

As I was lingering in the Knowing the Spring Courtyard, I started to hear music.  I gravitated in its direction and found Michael playing the traditional Erhu.  Such beautiful music was a perfect end to a perfect sketch outing in this lovely Garden!  He allowed me to make a couple photos.  I also did a very fast sketch.

Group photo in the Knowing the Spring Courtyard

More photos here

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Perfect day in the Seattle Chinese Garden

  1. Cathy Tenzo says:

    Nice sketches. I was not aware that we have a Chinese garden. I will have to find it. I love the one in Portland.

  2. studiohyde says:

    Looks like this was such a great day – love your sketches.

  3. Pingback: The henge | Red Harp Arts

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.