Understanding Perspective by Stephanie Bower

Understanding Perspective 
Easy Techniques for Mastering Perspective Drawing on Location
by Stephanie Bower

Quarto Publishing

ISBN 978-1-6359-128-0

https://www.quartoknows.com/books/9781631591280/The-Urban-Sketching-Handbook-Understanding-Perspective.html

Two years ago, I was fortunate to be able to take the “Good Bones” workshop from Stephanie Bower.  At that point, I’d been back to sketching about 2 years.  I had rediscovered drawing and painting when I found Urban Sketchers in 2012.  So I’d also been sketching, informally, with Stephanie in the Seattle Urban Sketchers group and had developed quite an admiration for her work.

She is an excellent teacher.  She’s been teaching architectural sketching here in Seattle at UW and Cornish.  I was very impressed when I learned she’s also taught at Parson’s in NYC!  She has the gift for offering critique in a gentle, positive and very helpful manner.

I’ve purchased a number of Craftsy classes, including Stephanie’s.  I’ve watched hers but not really worked through it again.

So I was very happy to learn that she was to have the 4th book in the Urban Sketching Handbook series.  Before I even received my review copy from the publisher (which I eventually did), I purchased it at the Daniel Smith mothership before it’s release date.

Did I mention that in her “Good Bones” workshop, Stephanie really made a difference in my understanding of perspective?  Since that workshop, my drawing has improved.  I continue to apply what I learned.  But, after 2 years, it’s getting harder to remember.

While the Craftsy class is good re-enforcement of that workshop, this book really makes a difference for me.  People learn best in different ways.  I learn best by reading.  So this book is just what I need to continue to remind myself of the principles of perspective drawing.    Her illustrations of the concepts are clear and exact.  The sketches illustrating her text are both beautiful and instructive.

The book is about the size of a sketchbook.  So it is even ideal to carry with you while out sketching on location.

I highly recommend Understanding Perspective, especially if you are struggling with that concept.  I know I will return to it again and again.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class, Urban Sketchers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Understanding Perspective by Stephanie Bower

  1. Thank you, Kate, this is a wonderful review–I appreciate your kind words so very much!!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.