Electra Arrives!

This was a wonderful day at the Museum of Flight.  I volunteered for the Electra Arrival event.    The Museum has obtained an immaculately restored Lockheed Model 10-E Electra, the same type of aircraft that Amelia Earhart piloted on her fateful final flight.

Thunderstorms were predicted so we were all concerned the Electra wouldn’t be able to fly in.  However, as is not unusual here, the forecast was wrong and we had beautiful, sunny weather all day.  The Electra arrived from Reno as scheduled.  She had been on display at the Reno air show.

First, the sketch I did once Electra had arrived.  I waited until late afternoon when few people were left in the area.  This is the VIP badge next to it (I wasn’t a VIP level donor but I got the badge as a volunteer assisting in the VIP event).

Attendees were invited to wear 1930’s style costume.  I put together a 1930’s-ish, pilot-ish costume out of my closet! Amelia was famous for her scarves, so I added one to the outfit.

I shot 85 photos and culled them to 61.  They are all here.  Here are a few.

First glimpse of the Electra:

Low level fly over

A few of the costumed volunteers and visitors

MAP volunteers, Marlene (a pilot and costumed as Amelia’s friend, “Poncho” Barnes) I’m on the right. (Museum Apprentice Program; costumes from the Museum’s costume closet)

Museum volunteers in costume; She was 7 when Amelia attempted her around the world flight. She listened to reports on the radio

Chelsea, Museum volunteer, portrays Amelia in the cockpit and has
actually portrayed Amelia Earhart for several Museum events.  She is an accomplished young woman.  As a child she attended the Museum’s various camps.  She is now an  Electrical Engineer and future pilot…about to start flying lessons.

I’ll close with the day’s most adorable little future pilot:

Of course, mom made the costume (all but the pilot’s helmet)

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketches and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Electra Arrives!

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    Delightful post, Kate! The Electra must be fascinating to see. And you look great in your 30s garb!

  2. Pingback: Amelia | Red Harp Arts

  3. Pingback: Cleaning Air Force One | Red Harp Arts

Leave a Reply

