On Alki with Don

It was a full workshop with Don Colley at Daniel Smith today.  In a surprise twist, we went to Alki Beach instead of staying at the store.  There was about an hour in the class room and then we car pooled over.  We spent the rest of the day sketching there.

In the Daniel Smith class room

I walked down to the far end so I could sketch the marker commemorating the landing of the first settlers in 1851.

We met for lunch and more presentation from Don.

He even marked up his face to illustrate his point about how to draw faces!

I was unprepared with warm coat, hat and gloves that would have helped endure the chill wind.  So I went a block off from the beach to a playground I’d seen while hunting for a parking space.  It was sheltered from the wind and sitting in the sun I warmed up.  I called called it the Whale Tail and I later learned that actually was the name of the playground!  I also tried something new with the second box with a smaller drawing.

Don’s Road Trip tumblr

Don’s website

A few more photos here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class, Sketch Crawl, Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Alki with Don

  1. Michele says:

    Great sketches and summary of the workshop, Kate! I like the additional shots, too. The capture of the overhead mirror with Don’s sketchbooks laid out really gives an idea of the scope of his work.

  2. joantav says:

    I like the sketch within the sketch. Sounds like he gave a good workshop.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.